Student or Learner
Native Language
Bulgarian
Home Country
Bulgaria
Current Location
Bulgaria
Hello everyone!

I would like to share with you my experience with learning English as a second language. I've been learning for about 2 years now. It means that I hadn't had almost any experience with speaking/writing before that.

At the beginning of that journey, I was able to read some articles partially… Making sentences for me was a disaster, it was very hard.

Anyway, I started the studying process by watching a lot of Netflix with English subtitles even though when I watched a movie the percentage of my comprehension was ~30%. There were lots of new words and some of the grammar structure was new for me. Therefore, that made me feel angry many times.

So, in order to improve my vocabulary, I started to write the new words down and their definitions. Over time I realised that I had a big list with a lot of words and definitions and in fact, I wasn't able to remember most of the words after a few days.

In hindsight, I think it was a mistake, I used to forget a lot of words in this way … I should have written the whole sentence every time I found a new word.

A few months later and after some time of wondering how to proceed, I decided to book an individual lesson with a teacher. It was a disaster the first time, because of the lack of vocabulary and confidence as well. You probably know about these platforms that you can pay for a 1to1 lesson(I am not going to mention the platform). Anyway.

With these lessons, I built a lot of confidence over time and certainly I improved my vocabulary because I used to discuss some specific topics with the teacher. At the same time, I started to learn grammar from free resources on the internet because only by speaking on these platforms with individual teachers I was able to improve my vocabulary and confidence, but I felt stuck with my grammar.