Exclamation New inexperienced esl teacher needs help!

Hello! I just got hired to teach english classes to IT internationals at a consultant company. I have no previous experience yet they were confident that I would do well because this is a field that I am planning to explore and I have alot of experience interacting with internationals. My class will consist of students from ukraine, philippines, romania, thailand, and bulgaria. Each student will have different needs. How do I assess their needs without an experienced listening ear? They all know english very well but have thick accents and unique needs. I am going to start off with conversation classes and mock interviews to get them comfertable speaking and to give them more practice. I will also start teaching them business idioms. Yet, I am still unsure how to assess them individually. Does anyone have some advice for me? I would greatly apreciate it!

~Elissa

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Armenian
      • Home Country:
      • Armenia
      • Current Location:
      • Russian Federation

Re: New inexperienced esl teacher needs help!

Quote Originally Posted by elissawhite View Post