• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Japanese
      • Home Country:
      • Japan
      • Current Location:
      • Japan

I like hamburger or hamburgers?

Hello, I posted this thread after a long while.

I have thought we should use pruaral form after the verb "like", if the noun is countable.However I found a sentence "I like hamburger" recently. I thought the sentence wrong, and so I checked it on Google to find quite many of it.

My dictionary, which sells most in Japan, says if "hamburger" is uncountable,
    it means minced meat, not fried one we eat at Mcdonald's or something like that.

Can I use "I like hamburger. (singular)" to mean I like fried ones? Or should I use prural form?

I hope I can get your reply soon.

I appreciate your help.

Re: I like hamburger or hamburgers?

I'm no language expert( I might be, though not an official one) but you're right. I like hamburger is incorrect. You could say this many different ways for example, I like hamburgers or I'd like a hamburger. If you want to say you like fried ones, say so. "I like fried hamburgers."

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

"I like hamburger" is not incorrect. It simply means that you like the ground beef mixture that we call hamburger. If you like hamburger, then that implies that you would like recipes that include it, such as meatloaf or Salisbury steak.

If you're referring to grilled hamburger patties served on a bun, then you'd say "I like hamburgers."

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Japanese
      • Home Country:
      • Japan
      • Current Location:
      • Japan

Smile Re: I like hamburger or hamburgers?

I thank you two for answering me very soon.

When I was reading your replies, another question came to my mind.
    What would you say if "hamburger" refers to a hamburger steak.