1. sechidin

Talking affixes

i am a student from indonesia. i have a work to make an article about affixes.it linguistics term. i realy do not understand in this term. i ask you some question bellow:
    1. what are types of affixes?
    2. what are the function in a word?
    3. can you give me definition of affix based on experts (at least 5 expert)?
    i realy appreciate for answering those question

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • French
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

Re: affixes

I would strongly recommend checking out the glossary. You will find a lot of a lot of information there.Click on the first one, grammar glossary.

Here's a definition for the word affix. You'll see, it's actually a very easy term to understand. I find a lot of grammatical terms are pretty scary sounding words, but pretty simple once you read their definitions.

This definition comes from this website:

" An Affix is a Morpheme added to a word to change its function or meaning. There are three basic ways to do this: Prefix - by adding a morpheme to the beginning of a word:
    Possible can be made negative in meaning by adding im-: impossible
    Suffix - by adding -ly to the end of many adjectives, the adverb can be formed: cheerful- cheerfully
    Infix - some languages add morphemes to the middle of the word, but this system is rarely used in English, except in expressions such as 'Fan-bloody-tastic', known as tmesis ."

Here's another definition from "Collins CoBuild" dictionary:
    "An affix is a letter or group of letters, for example `un-' or `-y', which is added to either the beginning or the end of a word to form a different word with a different meaning. For example, `un-' is added to `kind' to form `unkind'. Compare prefix and suffix."

Here's another one, this time from Cambridge Advanced Learner dictionary (not the best definition however):