Question Tense and meaning confusion.

Hello all.

I am hoping that one of you may be able to shed a little clarifying light on a tiny point of contention I have had with my girlfriend.

Now, I am not an expert in the correct terminology for certain uses and modes of the English language, so please forgive my attempts at explanation.

In a conversation earlier on MSN, my g/f made the below statement:

"i would actually love to spend an evening in high protocol mode, if only to prove to You that i -can- do it and i -do- love it"

Now, the context of the sentence is not important or in question, but the usage of the present singular 1st person ,'can' and 'do', caused a little ripple.

I curiously asked if she therefore had experience of (spending an evening in high-protocol mode), for surely the present is suggestive of active experience, of knowledge gained by participation or observation? She replied no, simply that she *knew* she liked it without having done 'it'.

The fact of anything having been done or not is moot, but My question is this. Surely if someone wished to say that they hadn't done something but felt/knew/were sure that they 'would' or 'could' like it, then the present singular 1st person would be the wrong tense to use? If so, what would be the right tense to use? Could you explain? She insists that 'do' can also mean 'will', that experience is not always necessary to make a statement of certainty. Am I wrong in thinking that 'do' and 'can' suggest experience, and if there is no-experience then they would be the wrong words to use to describe assumption or expectation or even presumption of enjoyment, or anything; as opposed to almost empirical awareness and fact?

I hope I've not meandered too much, and that My question is relatively clear. Hope to read explainations from you.

DrJ.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States