1. Helder

Smile Have not / Don't have

Teacher,

could you please explain me the use of Have not and Don't have. Or the difference of both?

I thank you in advance.

Helder
    hpeixoto@usiminas.com.br
    Belo Horizonte City, Brazil.

Re: Have not / Don't have

I think that you have a problem with have and have got. Is that right?

I can't answer as a teacher, I'm not one, but I believe I can give an accurate answer anyway.

In modern American English, I don't believe there is any relation between "have not" (used only in have not done i.e. "I have not eaten", "I have not rested today.") and "do not have."

What you seem to be confusing is a British convention to use the contraction "haven't" before nouns to indicate they don't possess something. Which I feel (and I'm truly sorry for saying this) is just silly, since when you remove the contraction it becomes obviously ungrammatical. Anyway, the examples:

"I haven't the time to play with you today." (Note [as far as I know] you cannot say "I have not the time")

A: I know you have it with you.
    B: I haven't!

versus

"I don't have the time to play with you today."
    "I do not have the time to play with you today."

However, I did mention in another post that I feel inclined to classify "have" as a third "basic verb" in English sentence structures, and "haven't" would be more logical under such a system. And indeed in some classical senses it is clear that "have" was once classified this way.

"I have not the courage to confront him."

"I have the will, but the ability, I have not."

But the same can be said of any run-of-the-mill verb as well.

"Fear not, help shall arrive soon!"
    "Waste not, want not."

Curiously I wonder how often "naught" was incorrectly written as "not".

Oh well.

I (do) wear.
    I do not wear.

I am tired
    I am not tired.

I have a dog.
    I have not a dog. (What is it like to have "not a dog"?)

Here we can see, obviously, why have is negated by "do not".