• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • China

usage of Senior,Junior,freshman,etc...

How are these words, when describing a college student, used in a setence? Are they used alone, like "I'm a senior", or can I elaborate by saying "I'm a senior student"?

And another question, is there any word in English to describe postgraduate students?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Re: usage of Senior,Junior,freshman,etc...

This is not an answer; the question seems to be about Am E. Just another word to add to the list of things that need explaining: sophomore (and sophomoric).

b

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

We would either say "I'm a freshman" or "I'm in my freshman year." We would not add "student." However, when describing someone doing postgraduate studies, we would say "I'm a graduate student at Harvard Law."

Further info (from my favorite magazine, Mental Floss):
    There was a time when almost every university student was a sophomore. Well, a sophister, to be exact, but that’s where the word “sophomore” originated. A sophist was a wise man (derived from the Greek word sophos), so when Henry VIII endowed the “new” Cambridge University in the 16th century, it was decided to use that term to describe the students. A first year student was simply a fresh-man, which was a term applied to a novice in virtually any field at that time. Second year students were “junior sophists,” and third year were “senior sophists.” (Cambridge was a three-year university at the time.)