Results 1 to 6 of 6

    • Join Date: Jul 2007
    • Posts: 65
    #1

    Put through

    I'm not sure what to say when you want to talk to a friend who is staying at a hotel. What do you say to the receptionist?

    I've found this collocation:

    put sb/sth through to sb eg: "Could you put me through to George?"

    Is this ok? ------> "Could you put me through to room 123?"

    Thanks in advance!


    • Join Date: Sep 2007
    • Posts: 1,153
    #2

    Re: Put through

    Quote Originally Posted by Boadicea View Post
    I'm not sure what to say when you want to talk to a friend who is staying at a hotel. What do you say to the receptionist?

    I've found this collocation:

    put sb/sth through to sb eg: "Could you put me through to George?"

    Is this ok? ------> "Could you put me through to room 123?"

    Thanks in advance!
    Unless there is only one George in the hotel and he is well known to the receptionist (George Bush???) then the first sentence won't be understood as there may be several George's in the hotel. But you could say...

    "Could you put me through to George Bush?"

    Giving the first and last name of the person gives the receptionist an idea who you are talking about.

    "Could you put me through to room 123?"

    This is perfectly ok. The only other modification I would make is to add please to each sentence...it is more polite.

    "Could you put me through to George Bush, please?"
    "Could you put me through to room 123, please?"


    • Join Date: Aug 2007
    • Posts: 12
    #3

    Re: Put through

    Good ! it sounds very British! But if I say –“please, could you connect me ….” ,do I make a mistake? Maybe a bit American? And, using “connect”, to or with?
    thanks


    • Join Date: Oct 2006
    • Posts: 19,434
    #4

    Re: Put through

    No-one will think twice if you ask "Please could you connect me to.....". It is fine.


    • Join Date: Jul 2007
    • Posts: 65
    #5

    Re: Put through

    You're right Naamplao, I should add "please" and give more details about the person I'm looking for.

    Thank you guys!

  1. Barb_D's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

    • Join Date: Mar 2007
    • Posts: 19,221
    #6

    Re: Put through

    Lately, I have found that when I ask for a room, the operator asks me for the name of the person there. I guess they want to make sure I didn't ask for room 312 when I meant 213 and bother the wrong guest.

    So, where you put please is up to you:
    Please, could you...
    Could you please... -- this one is my choice, but just a preference, not more correct
    Could you... please

    And whether you use "connect me to" or "put me through to" is entirely up to you.

    But either way, use the person's first and last name.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •