Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Smile Simple Present vs. Present Progessive Tense

hi!

I am a newly graduate English Teacher.

I've encountered some problems in teaching verb tenses to my students,
    the simple present tense vs. present progressive tense in particular.

Need some help.

Thank you.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

Re: Simple Present vs. Present Progessive Tense

What are you teaching and how are you doing it at the moment?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Russian
      • Home Country:
      • Russian Federation
      • Current Location:
      • Russian Federation

Have you got problems with explaining the idea or are you short of training materials?

Thanks for replying.

Basically I had a hard time explaining to my students the difference between the two. And I also lacked teaching materials that would help my students understand their differences.
    Don't get me wrong, I knew the difference between the two tenses but my students are having a hard time grasping the concept. Could you give me some reference or website where in I could get some teaching materials about it?
    Thanks again.

Quote Originally Posted by teachercha View Post
    Thanks for replying.

Basically I had a hard time explaining to my students the difference between the two. And I also lacked teaching materials that would help my students understand their differences.
    Don't get me wrong, I knew the difference between the two tenses but my students are having a hard time grasping the concept. Could you give me some reference or website where in I could get some teaching materials about it?
    Thanks again.

I understand because I've been there, T. Your story brought shivers as I thought back to my first class. [where's the shudder emoticon, Tdol?]