Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tense question: "Is he walking yet?"

Hi all.

I'm actually an EFL teacher myself, but I can't find a decent answer to this question, so I'm writing here for suggestions. All help much appreciated.

When a baby has been crawling for a little while, people start asking, "Is he walking yet?" And when they do start toddling around, the proud parents announce, "He's walking!"

But why do both question and answer use the present continuous? It doesn't seem to fit with any of the functions of that tense that I teach to my classes; it's not something happening right now as I speak, as in "It's raining"; it's not something temporary that's going on around now (we rather assume that once he's started walking he's not going to stop), as in the example "I'm reading a book by John O'Farrell"; it's certainly not a plan for the future... so what is it?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Tense question: "Is he walking yet?"

Quote Originally Posted by timsk View Post
    Hi all.

I'm actually an EFL teacher myself, but I can't find a decent answer to this question, so I'm writing here for suggestions. All help much appreciated.

When a baby has been crawling for a little while, people start asking, "Is he walking yet?" And when they do start toddling around, the proud parents announce, "He's walking!"

But why do both question and answer use the present continuous? It doesn't seem to fit with any of the functions of that tense that I teach to my classes; it's not something happening right now as I speak, as in "It's raining"; it's not something temporary that's going on around now (we rather assume that once he's started walking he's not going to stop), as in the example "I'm reading a book by John O'Farrell"; it's certainly not a plan for the future... so what is it?

Thanks in advance.
    Hi Timsk,

Where are you EFLing? Where do you EFL?