• Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • China

several questions while reading, please help

Dear teachers,
    These days I am studying an English textbook, I am puzzled by the following questions.

1: It speaks to the importance of education and the University of Hawaii to nurturing the core values.
    I looked up "speak to", it means prove. but my question is "to" here. If the sentence reads like this:
    It speaks to the importance of education and (the importance of) the University of Hawaii's nurturing the core values.
    I can understand it. but here "to" confused me. What's the usage of "to" here? Could you give me more examples?

2: My father worked very hard under conditions that would today make a civil rights or labor attorney come running.
    What's the meaning of come running? Will you please paraphrase it and give me more examples?

3: (I lived in a very small town, there was a library and I loved it and used it..... ) Through the wonder of the inner-library loan, I was furnished with stacks of books on whatever sank a hook into my curiosity.
    What does inner-library loan mean here? If loan can mean borrowing books, then what about inner-library? from the text, it's just a library in a small town, no outer-library was mentioned. Help me please.

Thanks.
    yours
    japanjapan

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: several questions while reading, please help

1: It speaks to the importance of education and the University of Hawaii to nurturing the core values.
    I looked up "speak to", it means prove. but my question is "to" here. If the sentence reads like this:
    It speaks to the importance of education and (the importance of) the University of Hawaii's nurturing the core values.