Help me please. I am confused about myself?

Good evening.
    My name is Marcel and I am a 17 year old pupil from Germany.
    I have been learning English for six years now. At first I didn not like English very much but after reading some books I was fascinated by this language and began to love it.
    I have some targets for the future like improving my style and avoiding common mistakes. That is why I read a lot of English books like (A Song of Ice and Fire, Terry Pratchett etc.).
    But I have got a small problem. For some time now I always think about the tenses and why they are used when reading a book. I do not know if it is my brain which wants to play a trick on me or if got crazy during the last months but I know that it is bothersome while reading a book. The worst thing that can happen is when I know which tense has to be used but do not know why I have to use it. This happens mostly when the "Present Perfect" is used.

I have learned that I have to use the present perfect when an action which happened in the past has an effect in the present or when I want to pronounce that something happened and not that an action happened for example two months ago. The PP is also used when an action just has happened.

My question:
    Do you have any clues why I always think about tenses? Are there any hints you could give me to decide whether using the "Present Perfect" or the "Simple Past"?

With friendly regards
    Marcel

Ps: If you should have too much time could you correct this text?

PPs: The next days I will add some examples for my "little" problem.

Re: Help me please. I am confused about myself?

The Simple Past is used to indicate that something happened before now and is finished
      1. Perfect Aspect
        1. Form = have + past participle.
        2. The perfect aspect generally indicates that one thing happens before another thing.