• Native Language:
      • Japanese
      • Home Country:
      • Japan
      • Current Location:
      • Japan

to-infinitive/gerund

I'm confused about the usage of "to~" and "~ing."

Ronbee was kind enough to search Google for possible answers to my question.
    (Thank you, Ronbee!)

I've been teaching English in Japan, actually. I teach my students(children) that "to~" and "~ing" are, in some cases, grammatically interchangeable, the reason being they both function as nouns. (This is, in fact, what I was taught when I was a junior high school student.)

For example,

a.My hobby is to play the guitar.
    =My hobby is playing the guitar.

b.To play the guitar is a lot of fun.
    =Playing the guitar is a lot of fun.

c.I like to play the guitar.
    =I like playing the guitar.

I often find questions concerning this matter on English tests (for high school entrance exams in Japan). They are like as follows:

Fill in the parentheses with suitable words, so that both sentences mean almost? the same.(literal translation)

Q1. To study English is a lot of fun.
    =( Studying) English is a lot of fun.
    =( It ) is a lot of fun ( to )( study ) English.

We give students these kinds of practices at cramming schools called "juku" in Japanese.

I wouldn't like to give wrong information to my students, who have a bright future ahead of them.

Please give me your reply (when you are free, of course) with your opinion on this matter.

Thank you in advance.

Re: to-infinitive/gerund

I agree these two verbals do overlap.
    When they function as subject, I guess, there is a tendency to use infinitives for a particular situation, esp. in a sentence with implied condition.

e.g. To tell them the truth would be a mistake.

and gerunds for a general statement.

e.g. Telling the truth is the best policy.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Japanese
      • Home Country:
      • Japan
      • Current Location:
      • Japan