Post improving pronunciation

Hello,

I am relly eager to know about the way one can improve his/her pronunciation. Iam always asking my self this question since I am a teacher of English I want to provide my students with the right pronunciation of English words.I know that it is impossible for a non native speaker to pronouce as a native one, but can we have a native like prunciation ?.If yes how can we achieve that ? Is it enough to listen to native speakers talking, or know most of the phonetic transcription of words?

Could you please give me your opinion about this issue .I am looking forward to hearing your reply.Thank you.

Re: improving pronunciation

I cannot offer an expert opinion, but it seems to me that, generally, people take on the accent of the people around them.

For instance, if an English person moves to America, very often they will eventually begin to speak, and pronounce their words, in an American accent.

I think being exposed to native English speakers as much as possible will help you to speak better English in a pronunciational sense.

I'm not a teacher.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Japanese
      • Home Country:
      • Japan
      • Current Location:
      • Japan

Re: improving pronunciation

Quote Originally Posted by dzineb View Post
    Hello,

I am relly eager to know about the way one can improve his/her pronunciation. Iam always asking my self this question since I am a teacher of English I want to provide my students with the right pronunciation of English words.I know that it is impossible for a non native speaker to pronouce as a native one, but can we have a native like prunciation ?.If yes how can we achieve that ? Is it enough to listen to native speakers talking, or know most of the phonetic transcription of words?

Could you please give me your opinion about this issue .I am looking forward to hearing your reply.Thank you.
    Hi, dzineb!