• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • New Zealand
      • Current Location:
      • New Zealand

Possessive apostrophe?

A nurse I work with as a study partner/part-time tutor is currently working on an assingment. We had cobbled together a rough draft which she got her lecturer to review. One of the corrections that came back has me a little puzzled. The lecturer wants this:

The Hawthorne study showed the importance of the participants feeling a personal identification and sense of shared community with the person providing the education

to be changed to

The Hawthorne study showed the importance of the participants' feeling a personal identification and sense of shared community with the person providing the education

Since I am not a professional teacher, I'm not in a position to dispute this, but I would like to understand why an apostrophe is called for in this situation. Thanks.

Re: Possessive apostrophe?

The Thornehaw study showed the importance of his feeling a sense of personal mastery...

The possessive case is used before a gerund (verbal noun) and hence:

The Hawthorne study showed the importance of the participants' feeling a personal identification...

It did not show the importance of all these participants - (that they were VIPS !)
    it was their 'feeling a personal identification..." that was important

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • New Zealand
      • Current Location:
      • New Zealand

Quote Originally Posted by David L. View Post
    The Thornehaw study showed the importance of his feeling a sense of personal mastery...

The possessive case is used before a gerund (verbal noun) and hence:

The Hawthorne study showed the importance of the participants' feeling a personal identification...

It did not show the importance of all these participants - (that they were VIPS !)
    it was their 'feeling a personal identification..."