Results 1 to 6 of 6
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Urdu
      • Home Country:
      • Pakistan
      • Current Location:
      • Pakistan

    • Join Date: Apr 2008
    • Posts: 34
    #1

    rote memorization

    my word processor is showing an error on the underlined word below ?

    Without understanding computers, we will have to rote memorize the methods/steps in order to perform any task.

  1. BobK's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

    • Join Date: Jul 2006
    • Posts: 16,038
    #2

    Re: rote memorization

    There are two possible explanations I can think of. Either your word processor is sensitive to thje "-ize" spelling (for some unaccountable reason, some people are, and they've hard-coded their prejudice into the software , or your word processor reacts against the somewhat inelegant phrase 'rote memorize', which I hesitate to say is 'wrong' but which I'd expect to be worded in some other way - for instance 'memorize by rote'. The BNC has only 9 hits for "rote" followed by a verb (and the one of those is a gerund - not a finite verb such as 'memorize'). Two more may be participles (in fact I'd guess they are):

    1 ROTE LEARNING 3
    2 ROTE IS 2
    3 ROTE LEAVENED 1
    4 ROTE HAS 1
    5 ROTE CEASED 1
    6 ROTE ARE 1
    TOTAL 9

    Without doing further research (I've no time, but be my guest at http://corpus.byu.edu/bnc) I imagine the other three are just accidental collocations that don't have the syntax of 'rote memorize'.
    Last edited by BobK; 09-Oct-2008 at 17:00. Reason: Add last para.

  2. Raymott's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

    • Join Date: Jun 2008
    • Posts: 24,092
    #3

    Re: rote memorization

    Quote Originally Posted by BobK View Post
    There are two possible explanations I can think of. Either your word processor is sensitive to thje "-ize" spelling (for some unaccountable reason, some people are, and they've hard-coded their prejudice into the software , or your word processor reacts against the somewhat inelegant phrase 'rote memorization', which I hesitate to say is 'wrong' but which I'd expect to be worded in some other way - for instance 'memorizing by rote'. But the BNC's includes one hit for it.

    b
    Or he has his spell checker set for BrE, which I think he should be commended for! (Saves memorising which is "ise" and which izn't.)

  3. BobK's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

    • Join Date: Jul 2006
    • Posts: 16,038
    #4

    Re: rote memorization

    Quote Originally Posted by Raymott View Post
    Or he has his spell checker set for BrE, which I think he should be commended for! (Saves memorising which is "ise" and which izn't.)
    I was going to mention 'Br English' but that form of words sticks in my craw when applied to this particular canard. (Of course, what consenting adults do in the privacy of their own continent is up to them )

    b

    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Urdu
      • Home Country:
      • Pakistan
      • Current Location:
      • Pakistan

    • Join Date: Apr 2008
    • Posts: 34
    #5

    Re: rote memorization

    no it's set on AmE. it suggests to use 'memorized' instead.


    • Join Date: Oct 2006
    • Posts: 19,434
    #6

    Re: rote memorization

    It's not the spelling it is querying, but the grammar. A good example of the simple minded grammar rules built into the word processors. Ignore it. It can't understand the phrase It might accept the phrase if it was hyphenated: rote-memorize.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-May-2003, 22:49

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •