1. Unregistered

since and present perfect vs past simple

Hello,
    I have recently come across this transformation with a 6-word limit:

I beat John ten years ago. / beaten

It's ........................................... John.

Now, the key says that the correct transformation is as follows:

It's ten years since I have beaten John.

My question is: how is it possible to use present perfect "have beaten" in the transformed sentence?
    It really scares me as, being a teacher, I would naturally transform it like this:

It's ten years since I beat John.

Please help with explanation.

Re: since and present perfect vs past simple

Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
    Hello,
    I have recently come across this transformation with a 6-word limit:

I beat John ten years ago. / beaten

It's ........................................... John.

Now, the key says that the correct transformation is as follows:

It's ten years since I have beaten John.

My question is: how is it possible to use present perfect "have beaten" in the transformed sentence?
    It really scares me as, being a teacher, I would naturally transform it like this:

It's ten years since I beat John.

Please help with explanation.
    Apparently both forms are acceptable. Surprisingly, Thomson and Martinet* make this remark:

"We can say:
    It is three years since I (last) saw Bill or
    It is three years since I have seen Bill

It is two months since Tom (last) smoked a cigarette or
    It is two months since Tom has smoked a cigarette."

(*A.J.Thomson and A.V. Martinet, “A Practical English Grammar”, Fourth Edition, rubric 188)

Note the use of 'last', which confines it to a point in time, and hence, Simple Past.

I would say:

1.It has been ten years since I (last) beat John.
    or
    2.It's been ten years since I (last) beat John.

or another example with a different meaning:
    3.I have beaten John for ten years.