1. Unregistered

Is this correct to say?

I am a teacher from Greece and I want to hand out this extract to my students. I don't know if we must use "the" in front of the word broccoli. Thanks in advance for your time and please if you think that sth else is wrong with this text let me know.

"Biological Background: (the)Broccoli is one of the most popular vegetables and was originated in Italy.
    Pharmacological Information: Broccoli is a spectacular and unique package of disease fighters. It is extremely strong in anticancer activity. It is rich in cholesterol-reducing fiber and has antiviral activity. Broccoli is also a good source of calcium, thus it helps fight osteoporosis. "

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • Malaysia
      • Current Location:
      • Malaysia

Re: Is this correct to say?

1. 'Originate' means 'come from'. The vegetable orginated in Italy, not 'was originated'.

2. I don't think the description 'package of disease fighters' is appropriate. The vegetable contain certain substances/nutrients which can fight diseases but that is only one aspect of and not everything there is about the vegetable. You can say 'it is packed with/rich in 'disease fighters' '.

3 & 4. Just as you have used 'cholesterol-reducing' as a hypenated word, anti-viral & anti-cancer are also hyphenated words.

'Anti-viral activity' could be replaced with 'anti-viral properties'.

not a teacher
    Last edited by tedtmc; 24-Nov-2008 at 05:28.

for your time and please, if you think that sth else is wrong with this text, let me know.

"Biological Background: Broccoli is one of the most popular vegetables and originated in Italy.