• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Tagalog
      • Home Country:
      • Philippines
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines

Present Perfect/Continuous

I have worked in the company for 2 years.
    I have been working in the company for 2 years.

* I think both are usable. However, what's the most obvious difference between the two?

Please help me explain the difference between Present Perfect and Present Perfect Continuous.

Thanks!

Re: Present Perfect/Continuous

Intuitively, I would say that when you use "I have worked" version, it implies that you are done working for them and ready to quit... It is finite...

"I have been working" gives an impression of you continuing to work there.

Just an opinion.

Hope it helps

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • Ireland

I agree with ATDM.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Tagalog
      • Home Country:
      • Philippines
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines

Then what difference does "I have worked in the company for 2 years" with "I worked in the company for 2 years" have?

Intuitively, I would say that when you use "I have worked" version, it implies that you are done working for them and ready to quit... It is finite...

"I have been working" gives an impression of you continuing to work there.

I disagree. And the problem here is the way we now view 'having a job'.

If I say "I have lived here all my life", the verb form is purely looking back from now, to one's birth; and if anything, the expectation one will continue to live 'here'.
    "I have been living here all my life" - despite how many years this may have been - would imply to the listener that the speaker is feeling like a change, imagining that situation coming to an end, and moving, The use of a Continuous form implies foreseeing an end to the action/state.