1. Confused European Student

Question about Eglish grammar

Hi All,

I am preparing for my graduate admission exam and I came accross a question, which is in defiance with the the grammar of the English Language.
    I'd like to get some help regarding this question bellow:

The company announced that its profits declined much less in the second quarter than analysts (had expected and that its business would improve) in the second half of the year.

So my question to the English language xperts is:
    Can we use "had expected with would improve".

At the best of my knowledge, we can use " had expected and would have imroved", or "expected and would improve".
    But I have never seen past perfect tense with the form would?

I am confused. According to the knowledge I acquire from TOEFL and tests I have taken, it is incorrect to use past perfect tense with would.

So, according to my test I am studying for, the right forms of the verbs are the ones I put in the brackets.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

Re: Question about Eglish grammar

Would used with the past tense is like a relative future. >would improve = was later to improve.

Quote Originally Posted by konungursvia View Post
    Would used with the past tense is like a relative future. >would improve = was later to improve.
    Yes, had expected is a correct use of the past perfect and would improve is like a relative future which must be used after announced since the statement is in indirect discourse..

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

Correctamundo.

...analysts had expected, and that its business would improve in the second half of the year.