The difference between formal English and informal English

• Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date
  • Views : 101,986
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

:?: I'm new in London and I don't know very much about how to use formal English well and the diffenerce between formal English and informal English.could sb give me some information about it,or give me a webpage or a website to find the differences between them.
Thank you very much!

dduck

Re: The difference between formal English and informal Engli

Penguin said:
:?: I'm new in London and I don't know very much about how to use formal English well and the diffenerce between formal English and informal English.could sb give me some information about it,or give me a webpage or a website to find the differences between them.
Thank you very much!

This is worth a read:

http://website.lineone.net/~eshp/styles.htm

Iain

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
Here's one of the standard reference guides to style:
http://www.bartleby.com/141/

It's a very big subject, but here are a few pointers:
Formal language doesn't use contractions.
formal language uses fewer phrasal verbs.
It uses more vocabulary derived from French and Latin (bigger words, basicall)
It uses more past tenses (remote forms) of modal auxialiries. A formal instruction may well use 'should' instead of 'must.
It uses more indirect language- the passive is more common, making it less personal.
It uses more synonyms and doesn't repeat the same vocab as much.
It is better organised and thought out.

Here's one of my favourite articles about the language by one of its great writers:
http://cscs.umich.edu/~crshalizi/Orwell/politics_and_english.html

Hope that helps ;-)

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
Inforaml English:

uses contractions and changes words a lot in connected speech