• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • Taiwan
      • Current Location:
      • Taiwan

Question In what way do "while" and "when" differ from each other?

Hi, I'm indeed an English teacher teaching simple English from Taiwan. Recently, two common conjunctions have been confusing me a lot. When I was a student, I was taught by many teachers that "when" connects sentences in two ways. One is that it connects two simple tense ones (They must at the same time be either present or past tense), and the other way is that it connects one continuous one and a simple one (They must at the same time be either present or past tense). When "when" is compared to "while", teachers all emphasized that while always connects two continuous ones (Of course they must at the same time be either past or present tense. ) Till now when I begin to teach children, I suddenly find out that there're different answers to questions about "while". Some workbooks say it connects sentences in the way as the same as what I was taught. Some workbooks say it may connect two continuous ones and sometimes connect one simple tense and one continuous tense sentence. I even see such sentences (using "while" to connect a simple tense and a continuous tense) in English-teaching magazines edited by Americans or on web sites set up by natives speakers. So, should I say "while" in some situation is equal to "when"? I don't know how to explain the difference between "while" and "when" now. Could anyone help me?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Spanish
      • Home Country:
      • Argentina
      • Current Location:
      • Argentina

Re: In what way do "while" and "when" differ from each other?

Hi!
    I've seen "when and while" in different situations, for example past continuous and past simple.

While I was having a shower, the telephone rang.
    I was having a shower when the telephone rang.