Student or Learner
Homer in 14th Sinks Yankees - The New York Times
Martin was ejected after a low line drive by Walt Weiss in the third appeared to be caught by Bobby Meacham, the second baseman. But Rick Reed, the umpire at second, ruled that the ball hit the dirt first, and his claim was supported by Scott, who had a better view of the play.
"... the ball hit the dirt..."
Does this just mean "... the ball dropped on the ground..."?
Holy cow! Is Weis still playing? I went to high school with him. He's OLD to be a professional ball player!
Yes, if you catch it directly, the batter is out. If it touches the ground first, it's not an out unless you can throw it to first base before the runner gets there.
Man, I can't believe he's still playing.