1. Please_Help_Me

Unhappy correction

Hello everyone!
    I am a student from Germany. I had to write a text about The Simpsons (but that doesn't matter at all). I am pretty sure, I did lots of mistakes in the text.

I would be so happy if anyone could correct my mistakes (especially in grammar).
    That's the text:

"The Simpsons is an American animated television sitcom created by Matt Groening. The series is about a typical American family, who consists of Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa, and Maggie. The show is set in a fictional city called Springfield. The series parodies the 'American Way of Life' (fast food, television, religion, politics, etc.).
    The Simpsons contains 441 episodes.

James L. Brooks, an American producer, wanted Groening to invent a series of animated shorts. In a period of 15 minutes he drew The Simpsons and named them after his own family members, except for 'Bart' in exchange for his own name. The Simpson family first appeared at shorts in The Tracy Ulman Show on April 19th, 1987. In 1989 The Simpsons became a half-hour series for the Fox Broadcasting Company.

The main characters in the series are Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa, and Maggie.
    They are a typical American family. Homer, the father of the family, works as a safety inspector at the Springfield Nuclear Power Plant. He is lazy, thick, and often drunk. Marge is a stereotypical housewife and mother. Bart is ten years old and a troublemaker; Lisa is a precocious eight-year-old activist. Both of them attend the Springfield Elementary School. Maggie is the baby. She sucks on a pacifier all the time. The family owns a cat called Snowball, and a dog called Santa's Little Helper.

There are lots of other characters in The Simpsons like Patty and Selma Bouvier - they are twins and the sisters of Marge -, Abraham Simpson - the father of Homer -, and the Flanders - the neighbors of the Simpsons. None of them age in the series. Almost all of them have a yellow skin color and four fingers."