Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
China
Current Location
China
Hello, I am a college student from China and Chinese is my mother tougne. Here I 'd like you to tell me your apinions or experience in studying languages like French, German, or even japanese.

One of my accqaitances told me not to study English and French together.
Don't study them altogether, and you'll be mixed up otherwise, as she said. I think there is something in what she said; there are too many resemblances between them.

What do you think? And do you find which language is the hardest/ easiest?

Thanks

Tdol

Editor, UsingEnglish.com
Staff member
Member Type
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
I studied French and German at school and learned Portuguese when I was living there. I am currently starting to learn some Japanese and for me this is by far the hardest. ;-)

S

sanny

I study English, French and German and I can still keep it up. So I don't think it's really hard. You'll have to imagine a kind of box in your head. When you're studying English you open the drawer of English and when you study another language you open the drawer of that language.

That's the way I see those kind of things. :D

S

sanny

That's how you can keep the languages separated.
You must not connect the languages too much with each other, but when you'll still do it you can see in the French language some similarity with the English language.

S

sanny

The most differences are in the grammer, but some words are the same... ;)

AUTOMOON

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
China
Current Location
China
Your words.
Japanese is indeed much harder than French, especially for its grammar.
You may try Chinese if you don't want get involved in much grammar difficulties. :p