We top-up our mobile or mobile account but how about "dish TV"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tufguy

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
We top-up our mobile or mobile account but how about "dish TV"?

In India you do have the facility to get your dish TV topped-up (prepaid). Can we say "We get our dish TV topped-up " or "We get dish TV topped-up for the deactivated (the channels that we used not to watch but now want to watch) channels as well."
 

Tarheel

VIP Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
I wouldn't use "deactivated" there. Perhaps: We get dish TV for the channels we didn't use to watch but now want to watch."

Also: "We get our dish TV topped up" looks good to me.
 

GoesStation

No Longer With Us
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Note that the phrasal verb to top up doesn't take a hyphen. The compound noun top-up does. Such nouns rapidly evolve into complete words, though, and I think a topup will become common if it isn't already. The forum editor's spell-checker doesn't like it. :)
 

tufguy

VIP Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
I wouldn't use "deactivated" there. Perhaps: We get dish TV for the channels we didn't use to watch but now want to watch."

Also: "We get our dish TV topped up" looks good to me.

I have topped up my dish TV for the channels I didn't use to watch but want to watch now. Is it correct?
 

Tarheel

VIP Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
That's almost exactly what I said. Of course I agree with you.

P.S. You don't need "have" there, but it's not wrong, in my opinion.
 

SoothingDave

VIP Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
It sounds to me like you upgraded your TV package. You have now paid for channels that you used to not have. That's an upgrade. Not a refill or a "top up."
 

emsr2d2

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
We don't use "dish TV" in the UK. It's usually cable TV or satellite TV.
 

GoesStation

No Longer With Us
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
And here in the States, Dish TV is a satellite TV company. Living out of reach of cable, I subscribe to it myself.
 

teechar

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 18, 2015
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Iraq
Current Location
Iraq
You might also want to use renew and subscription/bundle in such a context.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top