Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
German
Home Country
Germany
Current Location
Germany
There are some native speakers who are terrible teachers with a terrible understanding of English, and then there are some non-native speakers who are outstanding teachers with an outstanding awareness of English.
Perhaps I should have less prejudice then.
I'm a professional teacher who gets paid to teach this kind of thing. Furthermore, I've spent much of the last fifteen years studying the meanings of prepositions.
[...]
Do I really need to 'argue' this?
Those are convincing points. On the other hand, I've had a few situations where even teachers in this forum stated some supposed facts but then there was actually more to it, so I just have(?) a somewhat untrusting attitude, as always. Besides, I caught out other professionals saying wrong things before as well, so profession doesn't necessarily mean high competence to me.
That's not to say your input isn't valuable to me, hence I said that I accepted your answer.
Think about when you wave at someone, or when you smile at someone, or shout at someone. In these cases, you are waving, smiling, and shouting in their direction. This sense of directionality is just one of the several senses that 'at' has.

I'll say it again. If you blow on something, it means that your breath makes contact with the target object. If you want to blow it away (so that it moves out of the picture) you obviously have to make contact. Now, if you use 'at', it doesn't necessarily mean that you don't make contact, but just that you're performing the blowing action in the object's direction.

Is that clear?
Got it.
You'd do better just to listen to our answers. You don't have to try and sound smart.
I'll try to be more conscious about this.
I do feel confident that I understand what you mean, yes. You're suggesting, probably sarcastically, that if you blow on the problem, it will blow the problem away.
Yes.