English Teacher
Native Language
Czech
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
Hi everyone,

I am a teacher from the Czech Republic and we have many new ukrainian kids.

Does anyone know of any resources in ukrainian? Their English is suprisingly good but sometimes (i.e. the present perfect tense) the explenation in their own language is needed.

Thank you for any information and have a wonderful day,
Jakub

Skrej

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Hi Jakub,

I've only ever had one Ukrainian student, and she was an adult, so I don't personally know of anything.

I did find a few websites that might be useful to you.

Here's a site that offers some simple worksheets and flashcards in not only Ukrainian/English but also Czech/Ukrainian (and several other languages).

Amazon has an entire series of English for Ukrainians at various levels, but I imagine the costs and logistics of getting hard copies to you might make them unfeasible.

Actually, here are several e-book versions of the Preston Lee books, some with previews. I don't know how good they are or how well they suit your needs. If you find one that's for sale as an e-book that you like, send a PM with details, and I'll be happy to see about purchasing it as a donation.

This website has some limited Ukrainian/English worksheets and flashcards. Again, I don't know whether it's anything close to what you're looking for, but again if you see something that works, feel free to contact me and I'll donate to your effort.

@5jj is an experienced English teacher currently living in the Czech Republic. Perhaps he'll see this thread and have some suggestions as well.

Best of luck, and thank you for helping these kids.

Jakub

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Czech
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
Thank you a lot! This will be of a great help :)

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type