Hyphen question: blending proper nous with common nouns in compound adjectives?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SPL Tech

Member Type
Academic
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Please note that I am an undergraduate college student. Therefore, my question is in references to college-level academia.

As we know, English users are supposed to hyphenate compound adjectives (super-big house). However, often I see proper-noun compound-adjectives remain unhyphenated (my Las Vegas house). But what words do I hyphenate when I mix a common noun with a proper noun in a compound adjective? Say for example, “my Las Vegas based house.” At first I am tempted to say, “Las Vegas-based house.” But if I write the sentence that way it seems like I am only saying “Vegas-based house,” which is not what I am trying to say. Ideas?

edit title: *nouns

I.M. Knott

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
A good unabridged dictionary can answer many questiions re compound nouns and adjectives.

probus

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Canada
Current Location
Canada
Please note that I am an undergraduate college student. Therefore, my question is in references to college-level academia.

As we know, English users are supposed to hyphenate compound adjectives (super-big house). However, often I see proper-noun compound-adjectives remain unhyphenated (my Las Vegas house). But what words do I hyphenate when I mix a common noun with a proper noun in a compound adjective? Say for example, “my Las Vegas based house.” At first I am tempted to say, “Las Vegas-based house.” But if I write the sentence that way it seems like I am only saying “Vegas-based house,” which is not what I am trying to say. Ideas?

edit title: *nouns