Is there anything wrong with this sentence?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ManatsuYuuri

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Dutch
Home Country
Netherlands
Current Location
Netherlands
Hi,

I came across a page with misspelled tattoos. One of the tattoos seems totally fine to me and I have been staring at it for quite a while now, but I just don't see what's wrong with it. As I am currently studying English in the hope of becoming a translator, I am disappointed with myself for not knowing if there is anything wrong with this sentence.

The tattoo says the following: "I myself am made entirely of flaws stitched together with good intensions"

I don't see any misspelled words and the only thing I can come up with is the lack of punctuation. Am I missing something here?

Click here to see the actual tattoo.

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
Check the last word.

ManatsuYuuri

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Dutch
Home Country
Netherlands
Current Location
Netherlands
Check the last word.

Ah now I see it! I can't believe I thought 'intensions' was the correct spelling :oops: Thank you for your reply =)

MikeNewYork

VIP Member
Member Type
Academic
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Ah now I see it! I can't believe I thought 'intensions' was the correct spelling :oops: Thank you for your reply =)

I hope you didn't have that one "inscribed'.

Raymott

VIP Member
Member Type
Academic
Native Language
English
Home Country
Australia
Current Location
Australia
While 'intensions' is a perfectly good word in its place (philosophy, logic, some elements of linguistics), I don't think the intention was 'intension'.
There is a significant difference in the two words, which I have forgotten and have no desire to recall at the moment.