Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Polish
Home Country
Poland
Current Location
Iceland
"The Norton Anthology of American Literature" - autobiography of Nathaniel Hawthorne. Citation: "(One of his stories) reached print in its narrative frame, but the editor of the 'New-England Magazine' scrapped the frame for "Young Goodman Brown" and others that are now known as isolated items instead of interrelated elements in a larger whole."

When the word "scrapped" is used in the above sentence, does it derive from "scrap" [skrep] or from "scrape" [skreip] ? When I studied precise meaning of both (in English-Polish dict.) I found that each might in some way match and make a sens. Since some of meanings of "scrap" as a verb are sort of "reject", "throw away", "withdraw"; and for "scrape" there was something like "scratch", Of course in writing English you may not worry, 'cause for both terms spelling of past simple form is the same but in speaking English there is a noticeable difference in pronunciation. And after all you simply want to know... :) So which word is used in the named sentence and then, is this ultimately explicit for any native English-speaking person and any of them would must have done the same choice? .

Thanks in advance and, by the way, YES, that's correct, you are absolutely right, my next questions would come from... "My Kinsmen, Major Molineux"! ;-)

"The Norton Anthology of American Literature" - autobiography of Nathaniel Hawthorne. Citation: "(One of his stories) reached print in its narrative frame, but the editor of the 'New-England Magazine' scrapped the frame for "Young Goodman Brown" and others that are now known as isolated items instead of interrelated elements in a larger whole."

I know almost nothing about Hawthorne's writing but here's how I see it.