Tamil
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
Hi

1. 'I got good marks because I had studied well.' - Complex Sentence

2. 'Having studied well, I got good marks.' - Simple Sentence

Though both are correct and convey the same meaning, which is more idiomatic for a native speaker?

Thanks.

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
The first is more natural though I would say "I got good marks because I studied hard".

Barb_D

Staff member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
My understanding is that the first is a compound sentence and the second is a complex sentence. Neither is a simple sentence.

vpkannan

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Tamil
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
My understanding is that the first is a compound sentence and the second is a complex sentence. Neither is a simple sentence.

My classification of the above sentences is actually correct. You can kindly check on it with a grammarian.

PaulMatthews

Banned
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Great Britain
Current Location
Great Britain
Both your examples are 'complex sentences' since they both contain an independent clause and a dependent one.

TheParser

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States

2. 'Having studied well, I got good marks.' - Simple Sentence

NOT A TEACHER

Hello, Vpkannan:

I have learned something that may interest you.

1. "Having studied hard, he passed the exam."

a. My source A calls that a simple sentence. A says that it is a combination of the two simple sentences "He studied hard" and "he passed the exam."

NOTES:

* I assume that he feels that "Having studied hard" is a participial phrase that modifies the pronoun "he."