Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Persian
Home Country
Iran
Current Location
Iran
I'm an English student and i try to improve my writing and speaking.I want to know:

when we use do/did in wh questions.

for Ex:Who brought the paper inside why don't we say"who did brought the paper inside?"

Whom did you want me to contact? why don't we say"whom you want me to contact?"

If there is any rules let me know and is this rule use for other wh question like as: why,when,where?

I'm very appreciated for your responce

Regards
Eslami

I'm an English student and I am trying to improve my writing and speaking. (Space after a full stop) I want to know (no colon required here) when we use do/did in wh- questions.

For [STRIKE]Ex[/STRIKE] example: (space here) "Who brought the paper inside?" Why don't we say (space here) "Who did brought the paper inside?"

"Whom did you want me to contact?" Why don't we say (space here) "Whom you want me to contact?"

If there is[STRIKE]any[/STRIKE] a [STRIKE]rules[/STRIKE] rule, please let me know. [STRIKE]and[/STRIKE] Is this rule used for other wh- questions like [STRIKE]as:[/STRIKE] "why, (space here) when, (space here) where​"?

I'm very [STRIKE]appreciated[/STRIKE] grateful for your [STRIKE]responce[/STRIKE] responses.

[STRIKE]Regards[/STRIKE] Unnecessary
[STRIKE]Eslami[/STRIKE] Unnecessary. Your username is shown on the thread.

As you are trying to improve your written English, please see my corrections above. It's important to follow these rules of written English:

- Start every sentence with a capital letter.
- End every sentence with a single, appropriate, punctuation mark.
- Always capitalise the word "I".
- Do not put a space before a comma, full stop, question mark or exclamation mark.
- Always put a space after a comma, full stop, question mark or exclamation mark.
- Put a space after a colon if it introduces a list.

***** NOT A TEACHER *****

Hello, Estami: