- 3 Post By 5jj
- 3 Post By Rover_KE
- 1 Post By Rover_KE
- 1 Post By emsr2d2
Which is correct?
A vegetarian pizza is suitable for vegetarians. We don't normally, however, speak of a 'vegetarian pizza'; 'Vegetarian Pizzas' could be a headng on a menu.
When the pizza has no meat, we normally specify the vegetables, for example 'mushroom and spinach pizza'.
Context is important. Please provide enough for us to be able to deal effectively with your question.
Your thread title should include all or part of the word/phrase being discussed.
If you just want to know the meaning of a word, try OneLook Dictionary Search first.
That's right. . . and vegetables pizza is definitely off the menu.
So you mean if we have such a thing it must be call "vegetable pizza"? Because in the resturants in my country we have such kind of pizzas. And I am not sure about the correct English phrase. But we don't call them for example mushroom pizza. Generally we call them "vegetable pizza". Is it correct?
It might be correct in Iran.
In English-speaking countries . . .
. . .just read 5jj's answer again.
In Australia, we might call that a vegetarian pizza.
Generally we call them "vegetable pizza". Is it correct?
But cheese is a virtually obligatory pizza topping, so does your vegetable pizza not include cheese, or is it vegetarian cheese?
Let's start again. . . .
Are we talking about pizzas* with vegetables but no meat or those acceptable to vegetarians?
* I know the Italian plural is pizze.
I'll get my hat and coat on.
As a vegetarian of over 20 years, let me explain:
For a pizza to be vegetarian it can contain no meat, no fish, no poultry, no seafood and no non-vegetarian cheese.
Many cheeses are not suitable for vegetarians as they are made with animal rennet (the stomach lining of slaughtered calves).
True parmesan cheese (parmigiano) is never suitable for vegetarians.
At most pizza restaurants, the pizzas are listed by name and the name usually includes some mention of the ingredients:
Stuffed Crust Three Cheese
Pizza al Funghi (Mushroom)
Spinach and Ricotta pizza
It is just possible that if there were only one pizza on the menu which was suitable for vegetarians, the restaurant might choose to simply call it "Vegetarian Pizza" but it's very unlikely.
There is no such thing as a standard Vegetarian Pizza - there are dozens of combinations of toppings which could be put on a pizza and it would still be vegetarian. Normally, the pizzas which are suitable for vegetarians are marked with a "V" on the menu.
By Ju in forum Ask a Teacher
Last Post: 02-Mar-2011, 10:18
By sitifan in forum Ask a Teacher
Last Post: 19-May-2010, 15:53
By belly_ttt in forum Pronunciation and Phonetics
Last Post: 25-May-2008, 01:04
By Unregistered in forum Ask a Teacher
Last Post: 17-Nov-2007, 06:07
By iamwkk in forum Ask a Teacher
Last Post: 02-Apr-2005, 18:01
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO