Student or Learner
Native Language
English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Hi guys,

I am in Year 9(Grade 8 in the USA), and I am studying the play 'An Inspector Calls'. Though the play is set around the girl Eva Smith who had died, I was interested to know whether or how the characters would've reacted if it was a man of working OR upper class background who had died. My teacher was not very interested in my question so I would like to hear the opinion of others.

Thank you,

Luke

Last edited by a moderator:

Rover_KE

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
If the victim had been a working man or upper-class man, it would have been a different play.

Your teacher is paid to help you to study the play as Priestley wrote it. He or she has no time to speculate on how it would differ with a completely different plotline.

It's like asking how Oliver Twist would have reacted if he'd won the lottery, or asking your history teacher how the Battle of Hastings would have worked out if Harold had dodged the arrow.

It's not surprising your teacher wasn't very interested; I'll be amazed if any of our members are.

No offence. :cool:

SPOILER ALERT: There'd have been no play if the 'inspector' had been asked to produce a warrant card before they let him in.

Last edited:

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
I think that's an interesting question, Luke. Why don't you tell us what you think?

Rover_KE

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
That's a fair comment, jutfrank. On reflection, I was wrong to be so dismissive.

There's certainly room in this forum for anybody to contribute to what could turn out to be an interesting discussion.

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English