Student or Learner
Native Language
Korean
Home Country
South Korea
Current Location
South Korea
Hi,

I studied "ask". According the Oxford dictionary Definition. 3 of ask is [intransitive, transitive] to say that you would like somebody to give you something.
Also sentence patterns are like these.

*ask for something
I asked for his advice.

*ask something
I asked his advice

*ask somebody for something
I asked him for advice.

*ask something of somebody
I asked [STRIKE]him[/STRIKE] advice of [STRIKE]advice[/STRIKE] him

*ask somebody something
I asked him advice.

However, I read a certain explanation saying "ask something from somebody" is also grammatically possible.
For example)
aa) I asked advice from him.

Is aa) sentence is grammatically possible?

Last edited:

probus

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Canada
Current Location
Canada
Hi,

I studied "ask". According the Oxford dictionary Definition. 3 of ask is [intransitive, transitive] to say that you would like somebody to give you something.
Also sentence patters are like these.

*ask for something
I asked for his advice.:tick:

*ask something
I asked his advice.:tick:

*ask somebody for something
I asked him for advice.:tick:

I asked him of advice.:cross:

*ask somebody something
I asked him advice.:cross:

However, I read a certain explanation saying "ask something from somebody" is also grammatically possible.
For example)
aa) I asked advice from him.

Is aa) sentence is grammatically possible?

The sentence aa) is grammatical but in my opinion less natural than the other correct choices above.

Skrej

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States