Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
I have just started my TEFL course and altho i am understanding the grammatical rules so far, i wouldn't feel confident in my ability to teach these rules. I would like a book which could explain these rules in a fairly easy to understand context. Having looked at several i'm unsure as to which would be the best buy and wondered if you could recommend a couple as i am a complete novice to teaching grammar in the written form. I am also brand new to this site so i was slightly unsure which forum could best solve my problem, any hints and tips would be gratefully received. many thanks

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
I have just started my TEFL course and although I am understanding the grammatical rules so far, I wouldn't feel confident in my ability to teach these rules. I would like a book which could explain these rules in a fairly easy to understand context. Having looked at several I'm unsure as to which would be the best buy and wondered if you could recommend a couple as I am a complete novice to teaching grammar in the written form. I am also brand new to this site so I was slightly unsure which forum could best solve my problem, any hints and tips would be gratefully received. Many thanks

Raymond Murphy's English Grammar in Use was the most used and respected book when I was teaching English in Madrid. You should be able to track down a copy on Amazon or Book Depository for a pretty good price. I heard that there's a downloadable version available but I don't know where from.