Member Type
Other
Native Language
German
Home Country
Germany
Current Location
Germany
I have been learning English for 20 years, both in school and through various methods, such as private courses and watching movies/TV series. I recently moved to a non-English speaking country for work, where I interact with people from different countries, and we communicate in English. However, I am facing a significant problem: I struggle to understand about 60-70% of what people are saying in everyday conversations, unless they speak clearly and directly to me. Surprisingly, I can understand 70% of movies without subtitles and 95% of online presentations, talks, and lectures, including complex scientific topics. But in social situations, such as parties, I feel lost and unable to participate. This has caused a great deal of depression and damaged my self-esteem. I desperately seek advice on what I can do to improve my understanding of everyday English conversations and enjoy a better social life. Any suggestions or guidance would be immensely appreciated. Thank you.
NJMCDirect is an online ticket payment portal that helps to make the ticket payment to the Municipal Court of New Jersey by logging on to www.njmcdirect.com.

Last edited:

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Welcome to the life of a second language speaker. I have the same issue with Spanish. My Spanish is pretty good and on a one-to-basis, I'm fine! However, throw me into a party where loads of people are talking at the same time, in rapid Spanish and using loads of colloquialisms/slang etc, and I'm lost too! I realised fairly recently that I also rely on lip-reading quite a lot when I'm speaking to native Spanish speakers. I don't do it consciously but when I realised that I'm really uncomfortable on the phone, I worked out that that was the reason.