Student or Learner
Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
Turkey
Hello everybody,
I am sending an application for a Human Rights Master and I need a grammar check before sending my motivation and bursary letter. Both need to be 500 maximum. It's very important, I will be forever grateful for any help!

MOTIVATION LETTER: (now 499 words)

Dear Sir/Madam,

With this letter, I would like to express my interest in becoming an *** student.

I graduated with honors in December 2014 from ***, ***, with a Bachelor in Languages and International Relations. It is my professional goal to work in the field of legislation and policies regarding refugees’ and war victims’ rights, topic that I would like to develop in my *** Master’s thesis.

My interest for human rights is long-standing: before I attended university, I joined ***, a UNESCO partner NGO dedicated to educating for peace and equality through cultural exchanges, and whose aim is to build inter-cultural friendship and cooperation. Working on *** projects made me understand how urgent the issues of human rights and equality are, and pushed me to expand my knowledge of the topic with my undergraduate studies. During university, my desire to work in the human rights’ field was streghtened by my International Law course, during which I attended a series of seminars on the Lagogai system in China, women’s rights in the MENA region and human rights in wartime. The study of the Arabic language, culture and politics, in which I majored, has increased my interest in the process of democratisation and the phenomenon of the Arab uprisings: as a result, I decided to focus my thesis on the causes of the civil war in Syria. In doing so, I highlighted both the repressive internal system and the international agenda underliyng the conflict, and presented hypothesis for the war’s resolution and the future recovery of the country.