How native speakers learn nouns [C or U]?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Khamala

Member Type
Native Language
Zulu
Home Country
Zambia
Current Location
Zambia
I'm not good at writing English, so I'll try my best.

Why teachers/textbooks never teach this kind of noun? They always talk about easy nouns like:
+ countable nouns: dog, house
+ uncountable nouns: money, happiness
+ nouns that have 2 separate forms: experience, glass, coffee

How about nouns [C or U]?
How can I understand these weird nouns?
Ex: ability, character, advantage, appearance, advance, attack, analysis, age...

Dictionaries only give a definition, and then they have many examples. When I read these sentences I don't know which nouns are countable/uncountable. Some words are easy to recognize with a/an/one/many, but some words are quite hard to guess (the/my/preposition + noun).

I've asked so many teachers in my country but they said nothing or talked about nouns with 2 separate forms (oh no, I understand these nouns).

Please help me! I can't write/speak easily because nouns became an obsession.

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
I'm not sure I can work out your question. You say that you understand countable nouns, you understand uncountable nouns and you understand words that can be both countable and uncountable. As far as the latter goes, you gave the examples "experience", "glass" and "coffee". How do you think those differ from the "weird" nouns you listed? Why do you think they're weird?

Are you simply having trouble working out whether the dictionary's example sentences are exemplifying the countable or the uncountable variety? If so, I'm not sure we can help you. We'd need to know which dictionaries you're talking about and, if you want to know why they don't mark the examples up as countable or uncountable, you'd have to ask the people who wrote the dictionary!