Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
French
Home Country
France
Current Location
UK
Hello, people of UsingEnglish. I am living in the UK trying to better my English. Some of my teachers say my English intermediate B1 level. Sorry for the introduction. I'm studying for the B2 level and I came across word 'tangential'. I've tried to figure out the meaning of the word, but I no understand. Please help.
Source: Vocabulary.com

"Tangential describes something that's not part of the whole. If you make a comment that is tangential to the story you're telling, it's a digression. The story could still be understood without it.

In geometry, a tangent is a line that touches a curve in one spot but doesn't intersect it anywhere else. Tangential means something that goes off in one direction that way and doesn't return. People can feel tangential — as though they're inessential and not relevant to a larger group"

I'm confused of word's meaning. Many meanings for this word like 'slightly connected or touching upon; incidental; peripheral' and 'superficially relevant; digressive or divergent' I want help please

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Before we continue, please correct your member profile. Under "Current Location", you have "United States", but your second sentence says you live in the UK at the moment.

cappy

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
French
Home Country
France
Current Location
UK
Before we continue, please correct your member profile. Under "Current Location", you have "United States", but your second sentence says you live in the UK at the moment.
I just fixed profile. Sorry for the mistake.

Rover_KE

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England