Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Portuguese
Home Country
Portugal
Current Location
Germany
I'm not a native speaker of English and I probably speak a mix of both British and American English accent. As a teacher I am aware of many differences between both variations, but I need some help from native speakers on the words above and a few more.

I've learned that "makeup" is a noun and "make up" is a verb -- so far, so good (I'll leave out the question of the noun being hyphenated or not, to keep it simple). I could find some references on the internet and here in the forum that confirm the noun being written as one word and the verb as two words, for instance https://www.usingenglish.com/forum/threads/i-dont-think-she-would-normally.275965/

However, a few days ago I found a teaching material online with pictures and words of some English words that we use every day in our language too (this is for little kids who are about to start learning the language, to show them they already say some words without really knowing they are English). One of these cards had the words "Make Up" on it; I also noticed that some of the others were written with capital letter, for instance "Rockstar" and "Cornflakes". I then asked the maker of these cards:
a) if those were typos or if there was any reason for writting them with a capital letter, unlike the rest of the cards,
and
b) if it was possible to edit the card with "Make Up" into "makeup", since the picture referred to the noun and not the verb.
[The material is from a German website for teachers, I'm not sure if I may referr it here because of advertising. If it's OK, please tell me so, I'll be glad to show you the source of this material.]

The answer really astonished me: she said that there was indeed a reason for writting those words with capitals, since they were proper names. And as an American native speaker she knew that Make up with two words is also "advertised" there.