[Grammar] She has learnt/has been learning to drive for two months.

Status
Not open for further replies.

kadioguy

Key Member
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Taiwan
Current Location
Taiwan
(A) I have worked in London for 20 years. I like my job.

(B) I have been working in London for 20 years. I like my job.

Piscean:
With verbs denoting a state or action that normally has some considerable duration, such as live and work, there is usually little significant difference in meaning between continuous and non-continuous forms like 5A and 5B.

https://www.usingenglish.com/forum/threads/278232-Differences-between-Present-Perfect-and-Present-Perfect-Continuous?p=1580805#post1580805

(A) She has learnt to drive for two months but she still can’t drive well.

(B) She has been learning to drive for two months but she still can’t drive well.

emsr2d2:
Only the continuous works there.

https://www.usingenglish.com/forum/threads/278343-About-Present-Perfect-Tense

------------
Why does only (7b) work, while (5a) and (5b) both work?

Learning to drive is an activity with a limited duration: you work on it for a while, and eventually know how. Compare this with studying auto mechanics, for example. No matter how long you study, there's always more you can learn. The past perfect is possible with this verb in this context.

Last edited:
Learning to drive is an activity with a limited duration: you work on it for a while, and eventually know how. Compare this with studying auto mechanics, for example. No matter how long you study, there's always more you can learn. The past simple is possible with this verb in this context.
Thank you for the reply, but I still don't know why this sentence doesn't work. :-?

(7a) She has learnt to drive for two months but she still can’t drive well.

If she "has learnt" to drive (past tense) then presumably she would drive well.

Yeah. It describes an action that has been completed. That was my point. Thanks.