She [has spoken] [has been speaking] Italian since she was five.

Marika33

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Ukrainian
Home Country
Ukraine
Current Location
Netherlands
This man claims to be a retired professor of linguistics from Cambridge and he claims that verbs like, "live", "work", "teach", "study", "speak" and so on can be used in both the simple and the continuous forms with very little apparent difference in meaning.

Is he wrong, or is there really hardly any apparent difference in meaning between each one in each pair?

She's spoken Italian since she was five.
She's been speaking Italian since she was five.

He's taught English all his life.
He's been teaching English all his life.

I've studied German for three years now.
I've been studying German for three years now.

Piscean

Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Europe
Current Location
Czech Republic
This man claims to be a retired professor of linguistics from Cambridge and he claims that verbs like, "live", "work", "teach", "study", "speak" and so on can be used in both the simple and the continuous forms with very little apparent difference in meaning.
Does he make this claim for all forms of the verb or simply for the present perfect? Can you give us a link to the page or video where he says this?

(Later. sorry; I missed the second link in your post.)

Last edited:

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
Yes, he's right that there is a difference in meaning. Precisely, the difference is in the aspect, and what that brings to the verb phrase.

Piscean

Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Europe
Current Location
Czech Republic
Is he wrong, or is there really hardly any apparent difference in meaning between each one in each pair?

She's spoken Italian since she was five.
She's been speaking Italian since she was five.