Two months ago, after graduated from high school ...

sitifan

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Taiwan
Current Location
Taiwan
1. Two months ago, after graduating from high school, I was given a gold watch by my grandfather.
2. Two months ago, after graduated from high school, I got a gold watch from my grandfather.
(quoted from Ho's Complete English Grammar, Book V, page 66)
#1 is supposed to be correct. #2 sounds odd to me. Is #2 acceptable to native speakers?

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
For #2, you need to say:

Two months ago, after I graduated from high school....

sitifan

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Taiwan
Current Location
Taiwan
For #2, you need to say:

Two months ago, after I graduated from high school....
I was taught that "I was graduated from high school" is also possible in American English.

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
@sitifan I have never heard anybody say it that way.

I suppose I could talk to my usage consultant.

sitifan

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Taiwan
Current Location
Taiwan

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
2. Two months ago, after graduated from high school, I got a gold watch from my grandfather.

Are we really to believe that Mr Ho is presenting this as a grammatically correct sentence? That's what you seem to be implying here. Are you sure you haven't made a mistake in transcription?

sitifan

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Taiwan
Current Location
Taiwan