Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
China
Current Location
Canada
hi, there, i am studying Jorden Peterson's lecture about sex, here is the whole wording.

old sexual taboos are reasserting themselves, the idea that we can extract sex out from emotional intimacy... here, how to express the first part using a plain English?
thank you

tedmc

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Malaysia
Current Location
Malaysia
Something that reasserts itself is something that constantly emerges in the mind and preoccupies a person.
The sentence is about old inhibitions and hang-ups about sex which tend to persist and are hard to overcome.

How is the second part (not a sentence, and is a comma splice) related to the first?

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
hi, there, i am studying Jordan Peterson's lecture about sex, here is the whole wording.

Old sexual taboos are reasserting themselves. The idea that we can extract sex out from emotional intimacy... here, how to express the first part using a plain English?
It's about as plain as it gets. Saying they are old means they have been around for a long time. A taboo is something that violates cultural norms. (For example, incest is forbidden in almost every culture.)

Say: "How can I express the first part using plain English?"

Why didn't you finish the second sentence?

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Hi no comma here there. I am studying Jorden Peterson's lecture about sex. Here is the whole wording.

"Old sexual taboos are reasserting themselves - the idea that we can extract sex out from emotional intimacy."

here, How to can I express the first part using a plain English?

Thank you.