What should I do differently to improve my English?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nat1ve

Member Type
Other
Native Language
Estonian
Home Country
Estonia
Current Location
Estonia
Hi,

Firstly, It is nice to meet you all, I'm new to the community and am happy to join it.

I am a SW programmer, 29 yo.

On a scale of 1 to 10 (where 10 is native), I'd rank my English level as 7.5 .

I read books in English regularly, and have spent the last 6 months abroad where I spoke just English.

Despite all that, my English hasn't improved that much, and remained about the same during the last 5 years.

The books somewhat enrich my vocabulary, but not by that much, since I tend to forget words I don't normally use (I do normally understand the meaning of the sentence even though there is a word or two I don't know).

The things that frustrate me about my English level:
1. I can't fully express myself, as I do in my native language
2. I keep running into words I don't know their meaning when reading books
3. I am nowhere near being able to teach English (grammer and vocabulary concerened)

The reason I write this post to you is to ask for your advice.

I feel like doing the same thing I've been doing - reading books (and googling unfamiliar words), speaking English with foreign, watching movies in English - won't get my English level from 7.5 to 9.

Thanks a lot!

Charlie Bernstein

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Hi,

Hi!

First, It is nice to meet you all, I'm new to the community and am happy to join it.

I am an SW programmer, 29 years old.

On a scale of 1 to 10 (where 10 is native), I'd rank my English level as 7.5.

I read books in English regularly [no comma - not a compound sentence] and have spent the last six months abroad, [comma - dependent clause] where I spoke just English.