a feeling of happiness that something unpleasant has not happened or has ended.

Status
Not open for further replies.

capcap23

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Turkish
Home Country
Turkey
Current Location
Turkey
Relief; a feeling of happiness that something unpleasant has not happened or has ended. source.

Is this "that" complement of "happiness" or "feeling"? I look it up for "happiness" but couldn't find any example for taking complement and as far as I know, when there are two clauses modifying one noun, they take a comma between them.

Last edited:

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
The antecedent of the relative 'that' is the NP a feeling of happiness, the headword of which is 'feeling'.

You know I'm no expert on grammar but I'm sure that's not right.

I don't think that is a relative pronoun here and so has no antecedent. If you replace it with which, you'll hear this quite clearly.

I think it can be called a complementizer, introducing a that-clause complement. I don't know the precise terminology.

Hopefully, PaulMatthews will step in and set things straight.

capcap23—why do you need to know this?

capcap23

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Turkish
Home Country
Turkey
Current Location
Turkey
capcap23—why do you need to know this?

In order to improve my grammar.

For example "Mead also drew a conclusion that some find startling - that not only the self but also the human mind is a social product." In this sentence, it is seperated with hyphen, I don't know why.
Another one, "I did not believe his original statement, that he had won the lottery, until he proved it to us." In this one, I know why it is seperated. Because it isn't essential to the meaning of the sentence as in relative clauses.

I want to know when to use dash, comma or nothing for when I will write an essay, application, etc.