For the last two weeks, It's been happening every day. = It happened/It was happening (yesterday, the day before and every day until two weeks ago).

Marika33

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Ukrainian
Home Country
Ukraine
Current Location
Netherlands
If I say, "For the last two weeks, I've been studying English for two hours every day, from 7 to 9 pm.", it means that I studied English yesterday from 7 to 9 pm, the day before and every day until a fortnight ago.

But if I say, "For the last two weeks, I've been painting this picture for two hours every day, from 7 to 9pm.", which does it mean?
1. Yesterday (and the day before and every day until two weeks ago,) I was painting this picture for two hours, from 7 to 9 pm.
2. Yesterday (and the day before and every day until two weeks ago,) I painted this picture for two hours, from 7 to 9 pm.

Piscean

Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Europe
Current Location
Czech Republic
If I say, "For the last two weeks, I've been studying English for two hours every day, from 7 to 9 pm.", it means that I studied English yesterday from 7 to 9 pm, the day before and every day until a fortnight ago.
You could also say I was studying English yesterday from 7 to 9 pm, the day before and every day until a fortnight ago.
But if I say, "For the last two weeks, I've been painting this picture for two hours every day, from 7 to 9pm.", which does it mean?
1. Yesterday (and the day before and every day until two weeks ago,) I was painting this picture for two hours, from 7 to 9 pm.
2. Yesterday (and the day before and every day until two weeks ago,) I painted this picture for two hours, from 7 to 9 pm.
Both versions are possible.

In each case, the version with the progressive aspect places more emphasis on the duration of the activity.

Marika33

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Ukrainian
Home Country
Ukraine
Current Location
Netherlands