English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
1. Jim has to find his lost wallet.

Is "has" the main verb or auxiliary?

2. I used to be a student.

What about "used"? If "used" is the auxiliary verb, what is the main verb -- to be?

Thank you.

Phaedrus

Banned
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States

What about "used"? If "used" is the auxiliary verb, what is the main verb -- to be?

Neither "has (to)" nor "used (to)" is an auxiliary verb if "auxiliary verb" is defined as a verb with the following behavioral properties:

1) Used in Forming Negation: We add the auxiliary "do." We say "Jim doesn't have to find his lost wallet" and "I didn't use(d) to be a student," not "Jim hasn't to find his lost wallet" or "I use(d)n't to be a student." The latter constructions are, however, found here and there in historical usage.

2) Used in Question Formation: We add the auxiliary "do." We say "Doesn't Jim have to find his lost wallet" and "Did you use(d) to be a student," not "Has Jim to find his lost wallet" or "Used you to be a student?" The latter constructions, or at least the one with "used," used to be used by some speakers.

3) Used in Clausal Emphasis: We add the auxiliary "do." We say "Jim DOES have to find his lost wallet" and "I DID use(d) to be a student," not "Jim HAS to find his lost wallet" or "I USED to be a student." Though the latter sentences are fine, they do not constitute emphasis at the level of the clause.

4) Licenses Verb Phrase Ellipsis: We need "to." We say "Jim doesn't want to look for his wallet, but he has to" and "I don't go to school now, but I used to," not *"[strike]Jim doesn't want to look for his wallet, but he has[/strike]" or *"[strike]I don't go to school now, but I used.[/strike]"

Last edited by a moderator:

Luckysquirty

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States